English: CMOS 16 cover image.

English: CMOS 16 cover image. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Who am I to give advice about small business, writing, and the other subjects on this blog?

 

I worked for PacBell for over 37 years. While at PacBell, I wrote How To technical papers, one became an addendum to PacBell system practices.

 

I retired in 2003, and now live on Social Security. I took many online writing courses from prose to poetry at Writers’ Village University (WVU) in the late 1990s. Helped co-found a writing workshop at WVU, created a course on procrastination, which I facilitated, and facilitated other writing courses.

 

Also in 2006, I began writing book reviews, and began writing SEO web content, hiring out performing some of the duties of an acquisitions editor, edited manuscripts, writing articles on various subjects, guest posting about diabetes, and more.

 

As I enjoy learning new things, I learned about keyword density, not just writing with keywords, but also creating readable posts following conventional English grammar, and punctuation.

 

Since learning keeps part of my philosophy intact, learning about writing, publishing, editing, and more on my own terms has allowed me to garner knowledge in these areas. I have even surprised some publishers with my knowledge.

 

I have sucked into free webinars, where at the end the leaders are pimping some course, book, or program at an exorbitant price that someone of modest means, much less on a fixed income could hardly afford has lead me to form many opinions via the university of hard knocks.

 

I run my freelance writing on three basic principles: honesty, integrity, and quality. I believe that every time I write, or any project I take on is a chance to improve my skill set.

 

I also don’t believe in sugarcoating the information on this blog.

 

For me, it’s not about the money, but about creating something, that is why people harangue me saying I’m hurting others by my low costs.

 

I do what I do, not because of a wish to be rich, or the next six-figure person running a home-based business.

 

I believe in paying it forward, furthermore, I know that many independent authors do not have the money to pay normal editing rates.

 

I do feel that compensation for my time is a legitimate request.

 

I will not accept many freelance jobs because of my personal ethics.

 

  • I use no special software.
  • I use no PLR.
  • I use no curation techniques.
  • I only use organic methods for traffic.
  • I do not allow advertisements on my blog.
  • I do not use any backlinks techniques.
  • All posts are 100 percent original.
  • I do not do affiliate marketing.
  • I use The Chicago Manual of style.

 

I try to keep posts between 250 words to less than 400 words.

 

I am breaking the rule here because I have more to say.

 

If I see a writing job that feels like it is getting close to plagiarism, or rewriting, I will not accept it. If asked, I refuse.

 

The following statement is on my about me page:

 

“I also turn down work because of my stand on honesty, integrity, and quality.

 

Authenticity and originality are my primary goals in everything I do.

 

To do less is to diminish me as a person, and brand. “ 

 

I post information to help others, and for traffic in the off chance, that someone would like to hire me because of my writing skill as exemplified by the posts on this blog.

 

I do not claim to be an expert, nor do I claim to be a guru, I just learning on my own because I cannot afford the high price of training. I read and listen to multiple sources, and choose the best plan of action for what I want to do as a freelancer working from home.

 

Because of my financial situation, I work frugally, and don’t spend money I don’t have for some promise that if I buy this book, program, software, or whatever you become an expert.

 

Don’t believe it!

 

Do what you need to do on your own. Do not rely on others.

 

Author

 

Robert Medak

 

Freelance Writer, Blogger, Editor, Proofreader, and Reviewer learning Marketing

 

Follow the author: http://xeeme.com/RobertMedak

 

