Why am I calling this post Writing 101?

I am about to tell you, but first I want to add my favorite quote by Mark Twain, “The time to begin writing an article is when you have finished it to your satisfaction. By that time you begin to clearly and logically perceive what it is that you really want to say.” Working as a freelance writer, Twain’s quote speaks to me as no other quote does.

English: Signatures of Mark Twain

Think about what the quote says. It tells me that I need to get the words down, then edit later to make the copy (Matter for printing, exclusive of graphics) that I post, ghostwrite, or article I write. I also follow three rules when I edit,

  1. Is it cohesive
  2. Is it coherent
  3. Is it readable

This may sound simplistic, but try writing this way. You will find that it isn’t as easy as it sounds. Readable copy is something written that will engage the reader, not just something to kill time, but truly engage the reader.

How do you engage the reader?

You engage the reader by delivering on the promise of the headline and subtitle. There must be relevant information that engages and informs the read about what the headline says if you are writing and article, and the premise of a book is to deliver according to the title.

If you’re writing an article or blog post, it should be the best work you can do. Any information you offer to your reader is something they have searched for, give it to them from an objective standpoint unless there is a reason to offer an opinion, like a review. When writing a product review, you have to give both the pros and cons. If doing a book review there are other standards, never give the story away, but do give an honest objective review of the style, story, and characters.

I am asked, “How do you prepare for writing?” This has been my answer.

  1. Be prepared
  2. Get the words down
  3. Have someone you trust read it and offer suggestions
  4. Edit it, or have an editor do it
  5. Always strive to improve your writing
  6. Never settle for less than your best

Robert Medak

Freelance Writer/Editor/Reviewer/Marketer

Enhanced by Zemanta
