Whatever happened to the time when principles and integrity were in vogue?

There have been posts on blogs and items in newsletters that have me thinking of the days when people had personal value and were not out to sell their principles for money.

I guess I am from the old school where principles were not prostituted just to make money. A time when people placed value on their work and took pride in doing the best job they could do.

A time when a person’s word was their bond; when a person’s handshake was as good as a written contract, if there ever was such a time. Perhaps it is a cultural thing.

I work this way and value what I do as a freelance writer, editor, and reviewer. I will not take a job where the person offering work for pay that would insult a slave. As a professional, should I whore out my writing just to make a small sum of money?

I have turned down many writing jobs for low pay. I’ve written over 300 Web articles, worked as an online copy editor, and written close to 100 book reviews. I’ve also edited manuscripts, and worked as a reader/writer (acquisitions editor) for a book publisher. I am not expensive, but when it costs me more in time and effort than I being offered for a job, I turn it down.

This is where I rely on my personal integrity and my principles. I do not work for less than a minimum of $0.01 per word. There are many job boards and jobs posted on sites like Twitter where the pay is something around $0.003 or $0.0025 per word, yet they want excellent English grammar and original copy that will pass Copyscape and other plagiarism software.

If people want quality they should be willing to pay for it.

I also feel freelancers should not have to pay a recurring monthly fee to be able to bid on jobs, even new writers.

Are personal values and integrity things that have waned from the world, or they still in vogue?

I would like to think they are still alive and kicking. They are with me as long as I am breathing. Call me and old fuddy-duddy if you wish, but I feel that people need to be responsible for themselves and their actions in life and in the work they choose to do.

