Search the Internet and there are numerous job boards or websites willing to allow you to look at jobs for a monthly fee for a list. The problem is that there are many people bidding for the same jobs.

With the job scene being a buyer’s market, buyers on many job boards are looking for an inexpensive writer, someone willing to work for peanuts and doing rewrites for something like $0.25 to $2.00 for 500 words that will pass plagiarism software if you are lucky.

Websites are selling PRL articles and books that you can rebrand and say it is yours. For someone offering 100 percent original copy, this is not ethical, or something that I am willing to do. There are also essay websites, and other website where people post jobs needing help with their homework or even a term paper and are looking for a freelancer to do the work for them.

I have turned down many assignments that I could have done for somewhat low pay at these website just for the money, but I refuse to make money this way for ethical reasons. It is up to the individual freelance writer to choose whether to take this type of assignment, not this freelancer.

I have signed a Business Ethics Pledge, which states:

“I pledge allegiance, in my heart and soul, to the concepts of honesty, integrity, and quality in business. I recognize that the cornerstone of success is treating all stakeholders fairly, with compassion, and with a commitment to service. Working from abundance, I recognize that even my competitors can become important allies. I will not tolerate crooked practices in my business, from co-workers, direct or indirect reports, supervisors, managers, suppliers, or anyone else — and if I encounter such practices, I will refuse to go along with them and report them to appropriate authorities within and outside the company. I pledge to support the “triple bottom line” of environmental, social, and financial responsibility. And I pledge to participate in a serious effort to focus the business community on these principles, by sharing this message with at least 100 other business leaders.” You can read more about the pledge at http://site.business-ethics-pledge.org/.

From a point of honesty and integrity, I will not use anything that I have not created from scratch. This is my stand on writing and dealing with clients and people in general. To use a coined acronym, WYSIWIG is how I work and deal with people.

Have I made money as a freelancer? The answer is yes, but I will not lower my personal ethics for money’s sake.

Robert Medak

Robert J. Medak Writing & More

